Organisation of CESAR

The Scientific Steering Committee coordinates the research at CESAR:

  • deployment of the CESAR site
  • initiation of new projects
  • exploitation of the site
  • coordination with external partners

Daily matters of CESAR are taken care of by the CESAR Executive Board (CEB). The CEB members are also member of the Scientific Steering Committee. Present members of the CESAR Executive Board are Herman Russchenberg (chair,TUD), Arnoud Apituley(KNMI) and Maarten Krol(WUR).

Three scientific working groups were installed at the start of CESAR:

  • Clouds and radiation
  • Land-atmosphere interaction
  • Atmospheric composition

The CESAR Supervisory Board (CSB) interacts with the Scientific Steering Committee and the CESAR Executive Board and

  • supervises CESAR on the general, strategic and financial level;
  • is responsible to ensure the long-term financially balanced exploitation of the Facilty;
  • is responsible for the continuity of the CESAR observation program at an appropriate level;
  • evaluates annually the CESAR Observation and Science Plan and CESAR budget

Scientific Steering Committee members
Bosveld Dr. F.C. (Fred)Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute
Floury N. ()European Space Agency
Hensen Dr. A. (Arjan)ECN part of TNO, Netherlands Org. for Applied Scientific Research
Henzing Dr. J.S. (Bas)Netherlands Organisation for Applied Scientific Research
Röckmann Prof. dr. T. (Thomas)University of Utrecht
Russchenberg Prof. dr. ir. H. (Herman)Delft University of Technology
Swart Dr. D. (Daan)National Institute for Public Health and the Environment
Uijlenhoet Prof. dr. ir. R. (Remko)Wageningen University

General information

Cabauw 40 year



CESAR Consortium

CESAR Database